First Words and New Things

First words are often held to be significant. Well, here are mine:

New things are scary!

And so is putting yourself or something you’ve made out into the world where other people can judge it. I’ve never written a blog before, or read one for that matter, so I have no idea if there’s a particular way of doing things, or even what can be done. I’m hoping that people may care enough to leave me comments or pointers to help me out. Having said that, I also hope no-one will be upset if I ignore their suggestions and carry on doing things my own way!


There are two main reasons I’ve decided to give this a go, and here they are up front and centre:

  1. I want to be an author and to do that I need to publicise myself – hopefully get myself known and start building up a fan-base. I also have to get used to having my writing out in the world for people to see. I’ve already started on this by entering competitions and posting on writer’s sites. This is my next step.
  2. It seemed like it could be interesting (if weird) and give me a place to work through ideas and random thoughts. Of which I sometimes have many!

I guess this is the end of my first posting – I’m off to learn how to use WordPress properly, and customise settings to get the site looking better.

Warning: I have no idea how often I’m going to post new things, but I’ll try to keep the site up-to-date.

Leave a Reply

