Putting your Mind to it

Camp NaNoWriMo 2015 WinnerI am officially a Camp NaNoWriMo 2015 winner!!

There were times I wasn’t convinced I could make it, especially when I found out I’d have to write over 2,400 words a day for the last four days. That was a stretch! But I made it, I have my 50,000 words after one month.

Now all I have to do is decide what I’m going to do with them. Will I finish the novel? Set it aside? Finish it and never show anyone? Strangely enough I feel more driven to see something positive done with it, whatever that may be. Strange because I’ve written a novel before and said ‘Yay!’ swiftly followed by ‘well, that’s done then, what’s next?’ Put it away and started on something new. Why is it different this time? As far as I can see there’s three possibilities:

  1. I was part of an organised challenge with a deadline.
  2. I’m taking writing more seriously generally.
  3. All that plotting and yelling went on in a condensed time frame, so was more intense and makes it harder to just drop the project.

Yes, I resorted to shouting at the laptop, asking the characters what they were about, and pleading with them to please not do that because I couldn’t figure how to get them out of the situation. All right, I might have gone a little crazier along the way, but I did make it out the other side!

Just shows what you can do when you’re determined. . .and when life goes relatively smoothly and doesn’t implode on you.

Leave a Reply

